If I Tried Macarons Again…

I was thinking about yesterday’s macaron attempt. The cookies all had the sought-after “feet,” but most of them were cracked on top. I thought about what I’d do differently, if I were to try it next time:

  1. I’d let the batter rest for 30 minutes after piping it out, to [hopefully] prevent cracking.
  2. I’d find some almond flour, because grinding almonds in the food processor left big chunks, no matter how long I left the machine on.
  3. I’d try “aging” the egg whites.
  4. I’d make the cookies bigger, because I think 1″ was too small.

I’m sure there are lots of reasons they didn’t turn out, lots of other things I could try, but those are the things that stand out in my mind right now. 

Who am I kidding? I know I’ll try again, because I’m stubborn like that. However, it’s not happening until I get my hands on some almond flour. I hated the food processor step, and would like to be able to skip it entirely.

This entry was posted in Food, Self. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment